Margaret Kennedy

Margaret Kennedy – 1896-1967




One of the most diverse authors I have enjoyed. All of her books are well-crafted. Some books better than others, and everyone has a favorite!

Posts I have written about Margaret Kennedy and her books:

Troy Chimneys (1953)

The Ladies of Lyndon (1923)

The Fool of the Family (1930)

The Feast (1950)

Lucy Carmichael (1951) [Part One]

Other resources: Beyond Eden Rock, where blog author Jane hosts a Margaret Kennedy reading event every year. Do a little exploring and you’ll find links to other reviews from reader’s blogs.

A Bibliography (via wiki)

  • A Century of Revolution 1789-1920 ([London]: Methuen, 1922), history.
  • The Ladies of Lyndon (London: Heinemann, 1923), novel.
  • The Constant Nymph (London: Heinemann, 1924; Leipzig), novel.
  • With Basil Dean: The Constant Nymph – from the novel (London: Heinemann, 1926), play.
  • A Long Week-End (London: Heinemann, 1927), limited e. of short magazine story.[11]
  • Red Sky at Morning (London: Heinemann, 1927), novel.
  • With Basil Dean: Come with Me (London: Heinemann, 1928), play.
  • Dewdrops (London: Heinemann, 1928), limited e. of short girls’ school story.[12]
  • The Game and the Candle (London: Heinemann, 1928), limited e. of short magazine story.[13]
  • The Fool of the Family (London: Heinemann, 1930), novel, sequel to The Constant Nymph.
  • Return I Dare Not (London: Heinemann, 1931), novel
  • A Long Time Ago (London: Heinemann, 1932), novel.
  • Escape Me Never! A play in three acts (London: Heinemann, 1934), dramatization of The Fool of the Family.
  • Together and Apart (London: Cassell, 1936), novel.
  • With Gregory Ratoff: Autumn (1937), play.
  • The Midas Touch (London: Cassell, 1938), novel.
  • Happy with Either (1948), play.
  • The Mechanized Muse. P. E. N. series (London: G. Allen & Unwin, 1942), on the cinema.
  • The Feast (London: Cassell, 1950), novel.
  • Lucy Carmichael (London: Macmillan, 1951), novel.
  • Jane Austen. Novelists Series No. 1 (London: Barker, 1950), biography/criticism.
  • Troy Chimneys (London: Macmillan, 1953), novel.
  • The Oracles (London: Macmillan, 1955), novel.
  • The Heroes of Clone (London: Macmillan, 1957), novel.
  • The Outlaws on Parnassus. On the art of the novel (London: Cresset Press, 1958), criticism.
  • A Night in Cold Harbour (London: Macmillan, 1960), novel.
  • The Forgotten Smile (London: Macmillan, 1961), novel.
  • Not in the Calendar: The Story of a Friendship (London: Macmillan, 1964), novel.
  • Women at Work (London: Macmillan, 1966), two novellas.